Ireland Water Polo Women’s National League Division 1 2016-2018


IWP National League Womens Division 1 2016-17

St. Vincent’s1010001766930
Donegall Diamonds1050510711215
Cathal Brugha #10505857115


IWP National League Womens Division 1 2017-18

St. Vincent’s B1414002356142
Diamonds A1473415512024
St. Vincent’s A14401011415312
Cathal Brugha #13427939310
Diamonds B #13001333219-4


Season Information

Points System: 3 Pts Win / 1 Pt Draw / 0 Pts Loss / -4 Pts Forfeit #

Tie-Breaker: head-to-head aggregate score over two matches.


Water Polo was invented in Scotland in the late 19th Century and has been played in Ireland since the early 20th Century. Its’ heydey was in the 1960s when Ireland Qualified for the European Championships.

St. Vincent’s of Glasnevin, Dublin, have been the dominant team in Irish Women’s Water Polo for the last three years, winning all their league matches every year.




[3] Ireland Water Polo (2017) National League Tables 2016/17 [Internet] Available from [Accessed 18 April 2017]

Internet Archive

[4] Ireland Water Polo – Wayback Machine (2015) National League Tables 2017/18 [Internet] Availabble from: [Accessed 18 September 2018]


[5] Ireland Water Polo (2014) Ireland Water Polo Logo [Internet] Availabble from: [Accessed 21 February 2017]


Thanks to Caoimhe Mullaney.

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 13 February 2019

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2019

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *