Leinster Open Sea Dun Laoghaire Harbour Race Women’s Winners 1967-Present

Women’s Winners 1967-Present

1967Catherine SteckerCormorant
1968Helen SterryGuinness
1969Carmel SatelCormorant
1970Brenda McGroryCormorant
1971Terry MasonOtter
1972Brenda McGroryCormorant
1973Bernadette ByrneGuinness
1974Barbara ConwayGlenalbyn
1975Michelle GarwayGlenalbyn
1976Antonette FinlayTerenure
1977Deirdre HarknessDublin
1978Cliona JohnstoneCormorant
1979Ann CumminsCormorant
1980Sarah O’DohertyGlenalbyn
1981Audrey MartinDundrum
1982Linda HowardDundrum
1983Jacqueline WhelanDublin
1984Mariead DoranDublin
1985Hilda GraceDundrum
1986Helen FitzgeraldHalf Moon
1987Tara GerrardDundrum
1988Sarah BolgerTrojan
1989Louise KeoughGlenalbyn
1990Sandra TrappeDublin
1991Sandra TrappeDublin
1992Marianne ComerOtter
1993Jennifer NestorTrojan
1994Maeve ChaneyPolar Bears
1995Claire O’DwyerDublin
1996Heidi KinselaGlenalbyn
1997Susanne KellyOtter
1998Clare MacDonoughTerenure
1999Rachael LeeGuinness
2000Karen MolloyClaremorris
2001Carl FinlayHalf Moon
2002Tracey TelfortPhoenix
2003Helena ButterfieldGlenalbyn
2004Niamh DunneDublin
2005Siobhan O’BrienNAC Masters
2006Linda ClarkeGlenalbyn
2007Annmarie KendrickPhoenix
2008Julie RocheWicklow
2009Anne McAdamPhoenix
2010Lisa HowleyGlanalbyn
2011Lucy GaynorGlenalbyn SC
2012Afric CreedonNAC Masters
2013Rachel GalvinCoolmine SC
2014Lilly O’BrienCorrib
2015Roisin HennesseyWicklow SC
2016Yvonne McCarthyEastern Bay
2017Sarah BrowneGlenalbyn
2018Clodagh KiernanGarda
2019Evonne Hogan
Leinster Open Sea Dun Laoghaire Harbour Race Women’s winners 1967-Present [Ref: 2]


The Dun Laoghaire Harbour Race, along with the Dublin City Liffey Swim are the two most prestigious races in the Leinster Open Sea Calendar, and the ones all Open Sea Swimmers want to win. Leinster Open Sea hasdescribed winning one of the two as like winning an All-Ireland Medal.

Thee has been a different winner in the Women’s almost every year since the Dun Laoghaire Harbour Race has been scheduled since 1967, with the exception of Sandra Trappe of Dublin, who won back-to-back races in 1990 and 1991.

Leinster Open Sea Dun Laoghaire Harbour Race Photo [Ref: 3]



[1] Leinster Open Sea (2018) Dun Laoghaire Harbour Race [Internet] Available from: http://www.leinsteropensea.ie/harbour-race/ [Accessed 8 July 2020]

[2] How Did You Swim? (2020) Leinster Open Sea Results 2019 Winners [Internet] Available from: https://www.howdidyouswim.com/ [Accessed 8 July 2020]


[3] Leinster Open Sea Swimming Facebook (2019) Profile Picture, February 2, 2019 [Internet] Available from: https://scontent-dub4-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/50995821_2279274865430364_8243350097220337664_o.jpg?_nc_cat=109&_nc_sid=09cbfe&_nc_ohc=bq2Y3W4_ArIAX-bvISZ&_nc_ht=scontent-dub4-1.xx&oh=ec3231a2db2ba9747f497160007a81bb&oe=5F2B32D1 [Accessed 8 July 2020]


Thanks to Caoimhe Mullaney

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 8 July 2020

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2020

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *