Leinster Open Sea Dun Laoghaire Harbour Race Men’s Winners 1931-Present

Men’s Winners

1931James P. WallaceDublin University
1932Stanley J. SkullySandycove
1933Diarmuid MurtaghDublin SC & Pegasus
1934Diarmuid MurtaghDublin SC & Pegasus
1935Diarmuid MurtaghDublin SC & Pegasus
1936Leo O’BrienSandycove
1937Richard Nicholls CaseClontarf
1938Richard Nicholls CaseClontarf
1939Richard Nicholls CaseClontarf
1940William H.H. DeaneSandycove
1941William H.H. DeaneSandycove
1942William Haskins AshmoreDublin University
1943William Haskins AshmoreDublin University
1944Richard Nicholls CaseClontarf
1945Dermott CorbettBray Cove
1946Richard Nicholls CaseClontarf
1947William Patrick HawkinsDublin
1948Dermott CorbettBray Cove
1949William Patrick HawkinsDublin
1950JPD “Jack” CassidyClontarf
1951Joseph Christopher HoganPembroke
1952JPD “Jack” CassidyClontarf
1953Ronald J. WilsonSandycove & UCD
1954Gerard Francis CallananPembroke
1955Ronald J. WilsonSandycove & UCD
1956Gerard Francis CallananPembroke
1957James O’ConnorSandycove
1958James O’ConnorSandycove
1959James O’ConnorSandycove
1960Rory O’ConnorColmcille
1961Rory O’ConnorColmcille
1962Nicholas SmithDublin
1963Donnacha O’DeaColmcille
1964Desmond CarneyColmcille
1965Liam MortimerNorth Dublin
1966Liam MortimerNorth Dublin
1967Donnacha O’DeaColmcille
1968Frank O’DwyerGuinness
1969Francis WhiteGuinness
1970Francis WhiteGuinness
1971Peter McKennaNomads
1972Francis WhiteGuinness
1973Thomas P FarrellyHalf Moon
1974Francis WhiteGuinness
1975Joseph BrowneNorth Dublin
1976Patrick QuinlanGuinness
1977Patrick MullallyTempleogue College
1978David CumminsCormorant
1979Kevin WilliamsonTerenure
1980Michael McCannTerenure
1981Peter SinclairTerenure
1982Nicholas L O’MearaClontarf
1983Robert O’LearyClontarf
1984Ray KearneyTerenure
1985Michael AF O’MearaClontarf
1986Larry MooneyMetro
1987Paul KealyHalf Moon
1988Alan DwyerGuinness
1989Bert O’BrienSandycove
1990Paul Emmett & Gareth ClintonHalf Moon
1991Frank Carroll & David TurnerSandycove & St. Vincent’s
1992Shane MoraghanGlenalbyn
1993Arthur DunneHalf Moon
1994Tony CruiseTerenure College
1995Bob BushellHalf Moon
1996Matthew HickmottGlenalbyn
1997Diarmuid O’BrienESB
1998Matty WaineGuinness
1999Jerry KierseyViking
2000Tony O’BrienMillennium Masters
2001Brian O’DwyerGuinness
2002Greg O’DwyerGuinness
2003John FortunePhoenix
2004Gerard CartyAquatec
2005David CherryGarda
2006Tadhg MurphySt. Vincent’s
2007Lorcan ShelleyTerenure College
2008Rene KralAquatec
2009David FarrellSandycove
2010Shane DrummAer Lingus
2011Patrick CorkeryNAC Masters
2012Aidan HickeyPhoenix
2013Brian NolanClontarf
2014Gabriel ByrneTempleogue
2015Brian McLoughlin (“Jap”)Half Moon
2016Josh ReillySandycove
2017Frank ChathamNorth Dublin
2018Gavin NolanNorth Dublin
2019Karl Wilkes
Leinster Open Sea Dun Laoghaire Harbour Race Men’s Winners 1931-Present [Reference: 1-2]


There have been numerous multiple winners of the Leinster Open Sea Dun Laoghaire Harbour Race Men’s Race since it was first swam in 1931, the most recent being Francis White who won four times from 1969 to 1974.

Dun Laoghaire Harbour Race
Dun Laoghaire Harbour Race [Reference: 3][Photo Credit: Leinster Open Sea]


The Dun Laoghaire Harbour Race, along with the Dublin City Liffey Swim are the two most prestigious races in the Leinster Open Sea Calendar, and the ones all Open Sea Swimmers want to win. Leinster Open Sea has described winning one of the two as like winning an All-Ireland Medal.



[1] Leinster Open Sea (2018) Dun Laoghaire Harbour Race [Internet] Available from: http://www.leinsteropensea.ie/harbour-race/ [Accessed 8 July 2020]

[2] How Did You Swim? (2020) Leinster Open Sea Results 2019 Winners [Internet] Available from: https://www.howdidyouswim.com/ [Accessed 8 July 2020]


[3] Leinster Open Sea (2020) cropped-369_0330 [Internet] Available from: http://www.leinsteropensea.ie/wp-content/uploads/2012/03/cropped-369_0330.jpg [Accessed 23 November 2020]


Thanks to Colm Kincaid and Richard Declan Mulcahy.

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American & World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 23 November 2020

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2020

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *