Leinster Open Sea Dublin City Liffey Swim Women’s Winners 1979-Present


YearLadies WinnerClub
1979Mairead DoranDublin SC
1980M CarolanCoolmine SC
1981Louise KeoughDublin SC
1982Audrey MartinDundrum SC
1983Janne MurphyESB SC
1984Maeve ChaneyHalf Moon SC
1985Dolores KennyAtlanta SC
1986Paula KearnsOtter SC
1987Brenda HowardDundrum SC
1988Siobhan HoareHalf Moon SC
1989Ciara ByrneTrojan SC
1990Gillian MurrayHalf Moon SC
1991Siobhan HoareHalf Moon SC
1992Anne HudsonWicklow SC
1993Jill DonagheyDublin SC
1994Mary McDermottDublin SC
1995Elaine MurphyESB SC
1996Caroline FlemmingTallaght SC
1997Roisin RyanBarracuda SC
1998Aishling WaddenWicklow SC
1999Debbie DoyleMMSC
2000Ciara O’Sullivan St. Paul’s SC
2001Valerie SpollenPhoenix SC
2002Mary Rose KeeganOtter SC
2003Sandra TrappeDublin SC
2004Colette KellyGuinness SC
2005Molly MolloyDublin SC
2006Claire GavaghanESB SC
2007Sandy DowlingEastern Bay SC
2008Mary KellyAer Lingus SC
2009Sorcha BarryGlenalbyn SC
2010Deirdre DunneSt. Vincent’s SC
2011Maria QuintanillaDublin SC
2012Clodagh NolanCarraig Masters
2013Gina MurphyGlenalbyn SC
2014Rachel LeeGuinness SC
2015Orla WalshESB SC
2016Jennifer GilbertSwim4Life
2017Anne Marie BourkeDublin SC
2018Triona MuldoonClontarf SC
2019Sinead DelaneyPhoenix SC

Reference: [1-3]

Note: From 1936-1939 the race took part at the Bull Wall in Dollymount. [2]



[1] Leinster Open Sea (2018) Dublin City Liffey Swim [Internet] Available from: http://www.leinsteropensea.ie/liffey-swim/ [Accessed 23 August 2019]

[2] Irish Times (2019) The Liffey Swim: Dublin’s Hardy Annual Race has its 100th outing [Internet] Available from: https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/over-600-swimmers-take-part-in-the-100th-liffey-swim-1.3976696 [Accessed 23 August 2019]


[3] Anon. (2019) “‘Never in a million years did we think he’d win – dad of 15-year-old Liffey champion” Sunday Independent. August 4, 2019. pg. News 5


Thanks to Caoimhe Mullaney

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 8 July 2020

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2020

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *