Leinster Open Sea Dublin City Liffey Swim Men’s Winners 1920-Present


YearMen’s WinnerClub
1920JJ “Jack” KennedySandycove SC
1921John Cyril HopkinsPembroke SC
1922Thomas “Hayes” DockrellDublin SC
1923Charles “Cecil” FaganSandycove SC
1924O’Sullivan RocheClontarf SC
1925Gerald C. “Gerry” HigginbothamSandycove SC
1926Thomas A O’ReillyClontarf SC
1927James P WallaceSt. Andrew’s College
1928Philip T Brooks Dublin University SC
1929Dermot J HealySandycove SC
1930William F “Billy” CaseClontarf SC
1931EJ DoyleClontarf SC
1932Leo MaherRepublican SC
1933John “Johnny” EllisClontarf SC
1934Richard N “Ritchie” CaseClontarf SC
1935Andrew CrosbieDolphin, Cork
1936Richard N “Ritchie” CaseClontarf SC
1937Richard N “Ritchie” CaseClontarf SC
1938Richard N “Ritchie” CaseClontarf SC
1939William Haskins AshmoreDublin University SC
1940Patrick KinsellaSandycove SC
1941Tom HanniganNorth Dublin SC
1942Christopher P CloakeDublin SC
1943Anthony W KennettPembroke SC
1944Patrick G CondonNorth Dublin SC
1945JPD “Jack” CassidyClontarf SC
1946Jimmy RafterHalf Moon SC
1947Kenneth E RuddockCarlow SC
1948David GriffinNorth Dublin SC
1949Frank O’DonovanNorth Dublin SC
1950Joe GrantShannon SC
1951JJ “Jack” FaganNorth Dublin SC
1952Gerry BestHalf Moon SC
1953Gerry BolandNorth Dublin SC
1954Jimmy MarkayDublin SC
1955Patrick “Pat” BroderickGalway SC
1956Thomas “Tommy” MayColmcille SC (Dublin)
1957Cyril HardyCrusade Aquatic Club
1958Robin PowerSunday’s Well SC Cork
1959Kevin KingCrusade Aquatic Club
1960Sean HeffernanClontarf SC
1961Anthony “Tony” HardyCrusade Aquatic Club
1962Anthony “Tony” ByrneDublin SC
1963Colm O’BrienHalf Moon SC
1964David PageNorth Dublin SC
1965Patrick J KellyGuinness SC
1966Francis “Chalkey” WhiteGuinness SC
1967Francis “Chalkey” WhiteGuinness SC
1968William H. “Liam” LaceyColmcille SC (Dublin)
1969John MulveyHalf Moon SC
1970David FitzgeraldCrusade Aquatic Club
1971Ultan KerriganNorth Dublin SC
1972Fintan O’MearaClontarf SC
1973Paul EmmettHalf Moon SC
1974Liam BohanHalf Moon SC
1975David CumminsCormorant SC
1976Kevin ScullyTepmleogue SC
1977Nicholas O’MearaClontarf SC
1978Jim MooneyHalf Moon SC
1979Dermot HughesHalf Moon SC
1980Michael FitzpatrickHalf Moon SC
1981Arthur DunneHalf Moon SC
1982Arthur DunneHalf Moon SC
1983Paul KealyHalf Moon SC
1984Jason StynesKingdom SC
1985Richard JoyceNorth Dublin SC
1986Greg O’DwyerGuinness SC
1987Shane NicolettiGuinness SC
1988Bert O’BrienSandycove SC
1989Derek Bimbo WilkesNorth Dublin SC
1990Oliver FlanaganSt. Vincent’s SC
1991Vincent TormeyDublin University SC
1992Matty WaineGuinness SC
1993John DunneMetro WSC
1994Michael FinneganESB SC
1995Bert O’BrienSandycove SC
1996Frank ChathamNorth Dublin SC
1997Michael MongeySt. Vincent’s SC
1998Frank CarrollGlenalbyn SC
1999John WardAer Lingus SC
2000Brian MongeyMMSC
2001Paul ByrneNorth Dublin SC
2002Paschal RussellSt. Paul’s SC
2003John MortonWicklow SC
2004Robert ClarkeEastern Bay SC
2005Dan SmythNAC Masters SC
2006Kevin StaceyCoolmine SC
2007Larry MooneyGuinness SC
2008Charles HarperDublin SC
2009Pat O’DriscollTempleogue SC
2010Brian O’DwyerGuinness SC
2011Declan ProctorEastern Bay SC
2012Tom LoftusEastern Bay SC
2013Ciaran O’DriscollHalf Moon SC
2014Gerald WilkesNorth Dublin SC
2015Donnacha O’SiadhailSwim4Life
2016Brian MurrayEastern Bay SC
2017Colin MonaghanDublin SC
2018Paul O’FlynnHalf Moon SC
2019Mark HanleyNorth Dublin SC

Reference: [1-3]

Note: From 1936-1939 the race took part at the Bull Wall in Dollymount. [2]



[1] Leinster Open Sea (2018) Dublin City Liffey Swim [Internet] Available from: http://www.leinsteropensea.ie/liffey-swim/ [Accessed 23 August 2019]

[2] Irish Times (2019) The Liffey Swim: Dublin’s Hardy Annual Race has its 100th outing [Internet] Available from: https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/over-600-swimmers-take-part-in-the-100th-liffey-swim-1.3976696 [Accessed 23 August 2019]


[3] Anon. (2019) “‘Never in a million years did we think he’d win – dad of 15-year-old Liffey champion” Sunday Independent. August 4, 2019. pg. News 5

[4] Anon. (2019) “Dollymount Swim won by R.N. Case” Irish Independent. July 30, 1936. pg. 9.

[5] Anon. (2019) “Thrills for Race in Independent Cup” Irish Independent. July 17, 1937. pg. 10.


Thanks to Caoimhe Mullaney & Colm Kincaid.

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 23 August 2019

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2019

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *